Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Online and off-campus support for teaching staff: Welcome - how can we help you?

This guide provides links to online resources to support the development of teaching and learning resources off-campus.

Library support for teachers

This guide aims to provide academic staff with links to digital resources that support online teaching practices.  The guide provides links to not only Melbourne Polytechnic resources, but also to external teaching resources and professional development platforms.

If you have any questions about these resources, or if you need assistance with using the online products, please contact the Library via email library@melbournepolytechnic.edu.au or by phoning 9269 1349.

Staff Essential: Get Library Membership

To access the Library's online resources, including databases, ebooks and journal articles, you need to activate your library membership:

  • Simply complete a Borrower Registration form at any campus library, or contact the Library
  • Nominate a PIN (password)
  • Your staff ID card is also your Library card

Staff Essential: Check Library Password

The Library Password (PIN) is essential for:  

  • Using library resources off campus (ebooks, ejournals, databases)
  • Placing reservations and renewing loans
  • Checking your library record

To login to the library using your password, go to the Library Login screen

FindIt@

Find books, articles and more from a single search box:

 

Critical support for teachers during COVID-19 situation

Library services are still available to teaching staff in an online capacity, and library staff can be contacted for assistance with eresources, creating online reading lists, and technology support.  

To contact the library for general enquiries, please send an email to  library@melbournepolytechnic.edu.au  

To familiarise yourself with how to access our A to Z Databases and e-book collection and where to get help if stuck there is a How to guide.

Liaison Librarians are available to support Melbourne Polytechnic students and staff with skills including referencing, research, and the use of e-resources including databases and e-books.  Consultations may be made by email or via video conferencing using Microsoft Teams. 

Please email library@melbournepolytechnic.edu.au with preferred dates and times.

Access Melbourne Polytechnic's Virtual Library anytime anywhere. Comprehensive instructions are here eBooks@Melbourne Polytechnic Library

Access to Australian Standards has never been easier. See our simple guide

Studiosity allows Melbourne Polytechnic students to connect online to chat with an expert teacher or tutor or upload a written assignment for feedback within 24 hours. Studiosity is available 24/7 available via Moodle, under ‘Student Support’.

 

Library Locations & Hours

Libraries are located at all Melbourne Polytechnic campuses.

Did you know that you can access library resources 24/7 off-campus?   

And did you also know that you can contact Library staff while you are working or studying off-campus?

Simply email library@melbournepolytechnic.edu.au and Library staff will respond to you asap!  

Featured Librarian

Profile Photo
Dianne Wisth
Contact:
Senior Learning Support & Collections Librarian
Room PC203
Preston campus library
Ph. 9269 8861

New Digital Resources

New digital resources

You requested more online content and we heard you!

Check out these new resources below:

Flipster provides access to full text digital magazines on many subjects including gardening, art, music, photography and more.

Kanopy provides access to streaming videos on subjects relevant to Melbourne Polytechnic courses including education, art, health, humanities and science.

For more information about Flipster or Kanopy click on the links above or ask Library staff for help to access these new online products.