Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Education (Early Years & Primary): Databases

This guide will outline some of the resources that will be useful throughout your course and beyond.

Databases

A search in FindIt will pull up the majority of resources in which the library subscribes. However, not everything is retrieved; to find video content from Kanopy and LinkedIn you must go directly to the platform as these won't appear in the FindIt results. Some journal articles may also be missed. For that reason it is worthwhile going direct to the database and trying out your search there too. An additional reason to go direct to the database is that the way you search, browse, and filter your results may be slightly different, so your chances of finding a range of materials is increased.

A list of databases available through the Melbourne Polytechnic Library can be found on the homepage:

FindIt search tool with Databases A-Z link circled in red.

 

Some of the relevant databases are shown in the boxes below.

Kanopy

Logo: Kanopy, thoughtful entertainment

Kanopy is an online video streaming platform. It has an extensive range of films, including a dedicated education section which contains documentaries and films on teacher education development. Direct access to Kanopy. Please note you may need to be logged into Moodle or student email in order for Kanopy to recognise you as a Melbourne Polytechnic student. Sometimes Kanopy displays titles that you can request the library purchase; please feel free to do so!

Consult the Kanopy guide for more info on accessing and using Kanopy.

LinkedIn Learning

LinkedIn Learning Logo

LinkedIn Learning an online learning company that provides a vast library of engaging video tutorials to help anyone learn software, creative, and business skills.

See the LinkedIn Learning guide for more info and to set up your account.

Informit

Informit logo

Informit covers a range of specialist topics with an Australasian focus. It provides full-text access to a range of materials including: peer-reviewed and specialist journals, books and book chapters, conference papers, and reports. Informit is a database made up of various collections, including the A+ Education collection. A search via Informit will retrieve results from A+ Education, but sometimes it can be useful to search within a specific collection; it makes your search more direct and specific. 

The A+ Education collection is produced by the Australian Council for Education Research and provides full text access to articles from 2000 onwards, covering all levels and aspects of education (including curriculum, assessment, indigenous education, literacy).

ProQuest

ProQuest eBook Central logo

ProQuest eBook Central is a database that offers online access on a range of academic books. The library purchases individual eBook titles within this dtabase. eBook titles include Education in the Arts, Programming and Planning in Early Childhood SettingsFeminism(s) in Early Childhood. It is important to remember, that titles available through ProQuest won't appear in a search via FindIt, you must go directly to the database.