Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Education (Early Years & Primary): Books & eBooks

This guide will outline some of the resources that will be useful throughout your course and beyond.

The library has a variety of print books and items available for loan, including textbooks and resources from the children's collection (which includes picture books and teacher resources).

For tips on how to search the catalogue and how to browse the shelves, see the previous tab "Search Tips" 

Limiting your search to eBooks

The previous tab "Search Tips" shows how to use FindIt, which brings together library resources of all formats (print books, eBooks, journal articles, newspaper articles and so on).

How to restrict your search to eBooks:

1) Search in FindIt and then limit the results by source type. These options are found on the left hand side of the results page.

Screen capture of FindIt showing Source Types with a dropdown menu: All results, Academic journals, Books, Reports. eBooks, Magazines, Show more.

2) Select the eBooks tab on the library homepage

Screenshot of the Library homepage with the eBook tab selected.

3) Go to an eBook databases, such as ProQuest eBook Central.
Some eBooks are not compatible with FindIt and are only retrievable through the publishers database. See the "Databases" tab for more info.

CAVAL & Interlibrary Loans

If you can't find an item at Melbourne Polytechnic Library you can:

  • Request an interlibrary loan and document delivery from public and academic libraries in Australia. The item is delivered to your campus library. Journal articles and documents are emailed to you. Free for all students and staff.
  • Go to any university or TAFE library that participates in reciprocal borrowing (CAVAL). Take your current student/staff card to start borrowing. Free for students studying Cert IV and above.

For more info, go to the Interlibrary Loan guide.

Children's Collection via the Catalogue

Preston library contains the most resources on education, including children's books and teacher resources. There are also resources at the Epping library. If you wish to check what children's books and teacher resources are available and where they are located, head to the On the Shelf tab on the library homepage and select Advanced Search. Then select Children's Collection in the Collection field:

Items from the Children's Collection

The old woman who swallowed the fly

Spin a yarn: Indigenous story-telling game

Musical instruments

Frog hand puppet

Elephant hand puppet

Counters