Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Visual Arts: Databases

An overview of the library resources and services relevant to all the visual arts (including glass/glazing, graphic design, illustration, jewellery, photography)

Databases retrieve resources from variety of publishers, such as journal titles, magazines, or production companies. Databases that are relevant to various visual arts areas are listed below according to content type.  

The resources found on these databases are often not included in a FindIt search. That's why it is important to know which databases are relevant to you, otherwise you may miss important information. Specialist databases also have different search functions, making it easier to browse and to find highly relevant resources.

Magazines

Flipster is a digital magazine subscription service that provides access to selected magazines and journals via mobile apps anywhere anytime. Magazines include 3x3, Artlink, Aperture, Communication Arts, and Metalsmith.

eBooks

Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts logo

Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts is a database that provides access to 170+ eBooks. The easy to use platform is tailored to the visual arts and covers the following six disciplines:

  • Fashion & textiles
  • Design & illustration
  • Photography
  • Film & animation
  • Architecture & interiors
  • Marketing & advertising

Video streaming

Logo: Kanopy, thoughtful entertainment

Kanopy is an online video streaming platform. It has an extensive range of films, with relevant subject areas including Visual Art, Photography, Design, Experimental/Alternative Media and Art & Artists (find these under the Browse menu). Please note you may need to be logged into Moodle or student email in order for Kanopy to recognise you as a Melbourne Polytechnic student. Sometimes Kanopy displays titles that you can request the library purchase; please feel free to do so!

Consult the Kanopy guide for more info on accessing and using Kanopy.


LinkedIn Learning an online learning company that provides a vast library of engaging video tutorials to help anyone learn software, creative, and business skills. LinkedIn Learning has extensive tutorials on CAD, 3D Modelling and Animation, Illustrator, Photoshop as well as general skills development in the areas of music production and music business.

See the LinkedIn Learning guide for more info and to set up your account.