Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music : Databases

This guide lists useful resources for students across all music courses.

Databases retrieve resources from variety of publishers, such as journal titles, magazines, or production companies. Databases that are relevant to music students are listed below according to content type.  

The resources found on these databases are often not included in a FindIt search. That's why it is important to know which databases are relevant to you, otherwise you may miss important information. Specialist databases also have different search functions, making it easier to browse and to find highly relevant resources. 

Video streaming

Logo: Kanopy, thoughtful entertainment

Kanopy is an online video streaming platform. It has an extensive range of films, with relevant subject areas including Music, Performing Arts and Experimental/Alternative Media (find these under the Browse menu). Please note you may need to be logged into Moodle or student email in order for Kanopy to recognise you as a Melbourne Polytechnic student. Sometimes Kanopy displays titles that you can request the library purchase; please feel free to do so!

Consult the Kanopy guide for more info on accessing and using Kanopy.


LinkedIn Learning an online learning company that provides a vast library of engaging video tutorials to help anyone learn software, creative, and business skills. LinkedIn Learning has extensive tutorials on ProTools, Ableton, Logic, Reaper, Sibelius as well as general skills development in the areas of music production and music business.

See the LinkedIn Learning guide for more info and to set up your account.

Magazines

Flipster is a digital magazine subscription service that provides access to selected magazines and journals via mobile apps anywhere anytime. Magazines include Audio Technology, Bass Player, Downbeat, Guitar Player, and MusicTech.

 

The library also subscribes to other digital magazines that are not available through Flipster, but instead through FindIt:

Journal articles

JSTOR logo

JSTOR is the primary database for journal articles and book chapters on music. In addition to the access you gain through Melbourne Polytechnic, JSTOR also has a range of freely available, open access content. The State Library of Victoria also subscribes to the full, multidisciplinary version of JSTOR.
 

Oxford Music Online is an online music reference resource. It includes Grove Music Online, a music encyclopedia that offers comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making. and music scholarship.

 

Informit logo

Informit covers a range of topics with an Australasian focus, with many useful resources on music education.

Informit provides full-text access to a range of materials including: peer-reviewed and specialist journals, books and book chapters, conference papers, and reports.

eBooks

Bloomsbury Popular Music provides access to over 250 eBooks on various popular music subjects, published by Bloomsbury. Highlights include:

  • Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World
  • More than 150 volumes of the 33 1/3 and 33 1/3 Global book series
  • An illustrated Timeline of Popular Music back to 1900,
  • An interactive World Map
  • Artist pages