On this page is a selection of resources on glass available from the Melbourne Polytechnic Library. There is also some advice about searching and finding information through the library.
The Melbourne Polytechnic Library holds:
& much more!
Access FindIt, the Melbourne Polytechnic Library's catalogue, here.
For more information about using FindIt, see the FindIt Library guide.
For more information about borrowing and accessing library resources, see the Library: Services & Facilities guide
Journals & Magazines
There are publications dedicated to glass that you can access online through the Melbourne Polytechnic Library. All publications can be searched using the Publication Finder which can be found as 'Publications' on the left side of the on the library catalogue here.
Some useful publications include:
These offer full-text PDF versions of articles that you can read and download. You can also search within publications to find information on a specific topic.
Flipster magazines
You can also access full-text magazines through Flipster via the Melbourne Polytechnic Library. There are many art and design magazines available through Flipster, which you can read online on a computer, tablet, or mobile phone.
For more information on accessing Flipster, see the Melbourne Polytechnic Library's guide for Flipster.
You cannot find everything the library offers through a FindIt search. Search directly in the MP Library databases for full access to all our resources. These can be accessed from the MP Library under Databases A-Z
ArtsHub is Australia’s leading website dedicated to those working within and supporting the arts sector.
Full access to ArtsHub is available to Melbourne Polytechnic students for free. To access Artshub content when off-campus, open ArtsHub and register for a free student account.
For more information about registering, see the Melbourne Polytechnic Library's ArtsHub guide here.
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts provides access to over 170 full-text illustrated eBooks. It provides material relevant to art, design, illustration, architecture and interiors, fashion and textiles, and photography.
Access Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts here.
Art and Architecture Complete is an EBSCO art research database providing full-text art journals and magazines. It contains full-text journal, magazine, and trade publication articles on fine, decorate, and commercial art, including ceramics, as well as architecture.
Access Art and Architecture Complete from here
Vocational Studies Complete is an EBSCO database designed for the use of students in vocational programs. It contains full-text industry resources on glass work.
Access Vocational Studies Complete from here.
Watch films and documentaries for free using Kanopy. Access Kanopy here. Try searching for keywords like 'glass' or browse the Art & Architecture Collection for videos on visual art, architecture & design.
You can also request that videos relevant to your study be unlocked on Kanopy and added to the collection.
Access Kanopy from here.
For more information about using Kanopy, have a look at the Melbourne Polytechnic Library's Kanopy guide here.
You can browse the library's collection of print items on the library shelves. The call number (printed and stuck to the spine of the book) will tell you where to locate the book on the shelf and the general area to browse for other books on the same or similar subject. Some glass call numbers and their subject include:
748 Glass
748.5 Stained Glass
748.6 Methods
Glass books are also often put on display so be sure to check the display shelves at Prahran library
It can be hard knowing where to start a search. Here are some suggested terms to use in the library catalogue and databases:
For more information about using FindIt, see the FindIt Library guide.
Use these tricks when you are searching the Melbourne Polytechnic library catalogue and many databases to be as effective as possible:
Putting " " around your search terms means they will match exactly with the results.
Putting * at the end of a search term stands in for multiple characters: art* will search for art, arts, artist, artists, artistry, etc.
Putting AND between search terms means you will search for both of those terms
Putting OR between search terms means you will search for either of those terms
Putting NOT before a search term means you will exclude it from your search
Use () to combine AND, OR and NOT in your searches. For example, (colour OR hue) AND jewelry, (colour OR hue) NOT theory
See these videos for more information:
