Welcome to the Melbourne Polytechnic Library's guide for glass students.
Navigate through this guide using the tabs at the top of the page.
On this guide you will find:
Most of the library's book collection on glass is held at the Prahran campus library. You may also find resources on glass jewellery and other arts at the Fairfield and Preston campus libraries.
Prahran library:
There are also lots of online resources that you can access 24/7 off-campus with internet, your laptop or phone, and your student login details.
Glass Light Art & Architecture Synergies (GLAAS Inc) promotes the use of glass in art, architecture and building. GLAAS Inc. supports glass artists, makers, designers, and students through events, exhibitions, training, promotion, education, and advocacy. They have partnered with Melbourne Polytechnic in the development of our Glass and Glazing courses.
Wagga Wagga Art Gallery is home to the National Art Glass Collection
Ausglass (The Australian Association of Glass Artists) is a members organization that promotes glass artists and craftspeople in Australia. Members are artists, students, crafts people, collectors, galleries, suppliers, hobbyists and businesses.
Canberra Glassworks is Australia’s leading centre for contemporary glass art, craft and design.
Corning Museum of Glass is dedicated to the art, history, and science of glass. Currently has a collection of over 50,000 glass objects, some over 3000 years old. Much of their collection and other resources are available to be viewed online.
Part of the Corning Museum of Glass, The Juliette K. and Leonard S. Rakow Library houses a collection of materials documenting centuries of human interaction with glass. They also have useful Research Guides on glass topics.
The Glass Art Society is a non-profit, international organisation whose purpose is to encourage excellence, to advance education, to promote the appreciation and development of the glass arts, and to support the worldwide community of artists who work with glass.
Tacoma Museum of Glass hosts exhibitions, contains a collection of glass works, and has a strong focus on live demonstrations and acting as a maker space for glass work.
The National Glass Centre at The University of Sunderland hosts exhibitions on glass making, and hosts learning and participation programs. It focuses on the research and development of creative glass. See some of their past exhibitions here. They also have an online store where you can see some of the items produced through work at the Centre here.
British Society of Master Glass Painters is an organisation advocating for contemporary and historical stained glass in the UK. Members include artists, researchers, historians, conservators, and students. Have a look at their:
For help using the library:
For study help:
Need more help? Contact the Melbourne Polytechnic Library here.
See all MP Library guides here.
Corning Museum of Glass has a dictionary of common terms used in glass making and glass art. This includes techniques, object types, art and design movements, and styles. Many of these have examples from the Museum's collection that you can also view.
Access the dictionary online for free from here: Glass Dictionary
