Assessment Tasks

How to Write an Annotated Bibliography

An annotated bibliography lists sources you’ve used for a project or assignment and includes a short explanation of each source. Here’s how to write one:

1. Understand the Task

• Read the instructions carefully.
• Know how many sources you need and the referencing style to use (e.g., APA7, MP Harvard).

2. Find Reliable Sources

• Use books, articles, and websites that are trustworthy.
• Check with your teacher or librarian if you’re unsure about a source.

3. Organize Your Bibliography

Each entry should include two parts:

1. The Reference: A properly formatted citation of the source.
2. The Annotation: A short paragraph explaining the source.

4. Write the Reference

• Use ERNI the Melbourne Polytechnic referencing tool.
• Follow the required referencing style for your course.
• Include details like the author, title, publication date, and more (depending on the style).
• List the references in alphabetical order, by authors surname.

5. Write the Annotation

In 3–4 sentences, include:

• Summary: What is the source about?
• Evaluation: Is the source reliable and useful?
• Relevance: How does the source relate to your topic?

---

Example of an Annotated Bibliography Entry

Reference (APA style):
Smith, J. (2020). Effective Communication Skills. New York: Academic Press.

Annotation:
This book explains key communication skills, including listening and nonverbal communication. The author, a recognized expert in the field, supports the content with research studies. This source is useful for understanding workplace communication and will help develop my assignment on professional skills.

 

Another example of an entry in an Annotated Bibliography.

---

Common Uses for an Annotated Bibliography

1. Preparing for Research: It helps you keep track of useful sources.
2. Evaluating Sources: You analyze which sources are the most relevant and reliable.
3. Supporting Assignments: It shows your teacher that you’ve done thorough research.

---

Tips for Success

• Use simple language in your annotations.
• Double-check your references for accuracy.
• Ask a teacher or librarian if you’re unsure about the format.

---

More Information

Queensland University of Technology - How to write an annotated bibliography

Australian National University - Writing an annotated bibliography