Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Health & Community Courses: Search Tips

A guide with information for health and community student.

Welcome

Welcome to the Health & Community guide

This guide has information on search tips and academic support that will be relevant to all students. 

There is also a page dedicated to each of the health and community courses. These contain information and resources specific to each subject. 

Interlibrary loan & CAVAL

Inter Library Loans

Request an interlibrary loan or document delivery from public and academic libraries in Australia.

Books will be delivered to your campus library. Journal articles and documents are sent by email. Free for all students and staff.

Request an interlibrary loan be emailing library@melbournepolytechnic.edu.au or filling out the form on the Interlibrary Loan guide.

 

CAVAL

Borrow textbooks from participating Victorian Tafe and University libraries. Simply take your Melbourne Polytechnic student ID to a participating library and request to borrow using CAVAL.

To be eligible to borrow using CAVAL, you must be studying a course over 12 months duration and Cert IV or above.

For more information about CAVAL check the website.

Using Findit

Searching the library collection

 

From the Findit@ search bar on the library homepage you can discover books, eBooks and journal articles in the library collection.

Find out more about Findit@ 

Google Scholar

 

The Melbourne Polytechnic library can link with Google Scholar to provide you with greater access to online articles. 

To link the library select the three horizontal lines top left corner > Settings > Library Links > Start typing Melbourne Polytechnic in the search box and select Melbourne Polytechnic - Findit@ from the drop down menu.

Now, when your search returns an article that is available through the library collection, Findit@ will appear on the right side. You can then access to the article through a library Findit@ search.

 

Dastabases

Access the full list of databases through the Library homepage and then Databases A-Z link. The following databases are relevant to health and community students.

A Findit search doesn't include every database that the library subscribes to. By searching individual databases you can bring up different results that are not available through Findit.

Real Time Health

Videos containing interviews with patients on the subjects of physical and mental health.

Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre

This is a general news and subject database that covers issues from Australia and New Zealand. It includes news and articles on community service, drugs and alcohol, mental health, disability, aged care and phlebotomy.

CINAHL

CINAHL is an academic database devoted to issues related to health and medicine, including mental health, drug and alcohol addiction and disability.

Humanities and Social Science Collection

Also Australian-based, this database includes content on issues affecting society as well as government and public responses to these issues.