Databases |
|
Not everything you need can be found through a FindIt@ search. There are also a range of databases full of online news and academic journal articles on business and hospitality management. You will often have to search these databases directly to access everything they have to offer. Find these databases through the Databases A-Z link on the library homepage.
|
Databases are collections of information and data, organized and made accessible online.
Business Collection (Informit) is an Australian-run database of resources on business topics.
It contains full-text resources on:
LinkedIn Learning is a database of video tutorials.
You can learn how to use software and improve your career, business, and interpersonal skills. The tutorials are self-paced so you can take your time to complete a course.
Visit the LinkedIn Learning Guide for more information.
For company and industry information use IBISWorld.
Detailed industry reports which include:
Reports include Australian and New Zealand private and public companies and represent industries including architecture, engineering, accounting, the arts, and agriculture.
To access IBISWorld from the MP Library website, click on the Databases A-Z link on the homepage and select IBISWorld from the alphabetical listing.
Informit's Australian Public Affairs Full Text (APAFT) collection contains perspectives on Australia's political, economic, and social affairs. The collection features quality sources from Australian and international publications.
Google Scholar is a database of academic articles. It is free to search, and has some useful features, but there are some things to be aware of. Let's see how it compares to the MP library!
| Google Scholar | Melbourne Polytechnic library |
| Free to search | Free to search |
| Not subject specific - all topics included | Subject-specific databases for more direct searching |
| Not always free to read - information frequently behind paywalls | Free access to resources for students |
| 'Cited By' tool, and the ability to search within: this means you can see what other articles have referenced this article | No way to trace if article has been referenced by other authors |
| Citation metrics | No way of measuring how many times article has been cited |
| Ranks results based on citation metrics, not necessarily how useful or appropriate they are | Responds to keywords in search term, returns results based on this |
| Peer-reviewed journal articles | Peer-reviewed journal articles, books, ebooks, videos, company and industry reports, etc. |
| Limited filters with no way to filter for full-text availability | Ability to filter more comprehensively, including for date range, source type, and full-text availability |
Google Scholar can be a very useful tool for your search, especially the 'Cited By' function, but it has a lot of limitations.
Use it with caution, and, like all sources of information, be careful of relying on it alone.
Kanopy is an online video streaming platform that is free for MP students. Use it to find thousands of educational films on all topics.
Try starting with the Business Case Studies collection or the Business Skills collection!
For more help accessing and using Kanopy, see the MP Library's Video Streaming Kanopy Guide.
As a Melbourne Polytechnic student, you have free access to the following databases.
Business Source Premier contains full text coverage of thousands of business related publications.
This includes:
Information on nearly every area of business can be found in Business Source Premier; including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and marketing.
Hospitality and Tourism Complete is a database that contains full-text resources related to the hospitality and tourism subjects. Resources include peer-reviewed articles from some of the top journals in the field.
Topics covered include:
Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre Plus features full text sources from Australian and international publications include The Age, Herald Sun, and Australian Financial Review.
If you prefer to learn through videos, these tutorials show how to use the EBSCO databases like the ones above.