Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Essential Library Information For Staff: Liaison Librarians

Introducing Melbourne Polytechnic staff to essential information about library resources and services

How to read eBooks @ MP Library online

Checking out & downloading eBooks @ MP Library

Information Skills Training Sessions

Liaison Librarians deliver training sessions in:

  • Referencing
  • Turnitin
  • Database search skills
  • Evaluating information
  • Preparing literature reviews
  • Assignment-based information seeking
  • Bibliographic management programs (Zotero)
  • Setting up alerts

Liaison Librarians will adapt training sessions to suit your needs.

View more about Library Information Skills sessions

Introducing your Liaison Librarians

Liaison Librarians communicate on library-related matters across all of Melbourne Polytechnic's schools.
They ensure that library collections and services match the requirements of all schools and courses
New staff are encouraged to arrange a meeting time with the Liaison Librarian designated for their school.

Location:  Preston, Room C203
Phone:  9269 8861
Email:  diannewisth@melbournepolytechnic.edu.au

Responsibilities:

Bachelor of Engineering Technology

Bachelor of Built Environments

Liaise with Curriculum Unit, Learning Environments & Learning Skills

Location:  Preston, Room C203
Phone:  9269 1320
Email:  meredithbeardmore@melbournepolytechnic.edu.au

Responsibilities:

Arts

Education VET (Early Childhood Education and Care, Education Support)

Bachelor of Early Years

Bachelor of IT

Location:  Epping, Room M211  (currently home-based)
​Phone:  9269 1140
Email:  georginabourke@melbournepolytechnic.edu.au

Responsibilities:

Arts, Education & Agritechnology (B.Agriculture & Technology, B.Veterinary Nursing, B. Hospitality, M.Creative Industries)

Food, Fibre & Animal Industries (VET Agriculture, VET Horticulture, VET Animal Studies, VET Parks & Gardens, VET Hospitality)

Business & Construction (M.Accounting, B.Accounting, B.Business)

All Third Year (Higher Ed) research students

MP researchers

Melbourne Polytechnic Applied Research Ethics Development Committee

Location:  Preston, Room C203
Phone:  9269 1362
Email:  elizatucci@melbournepolytechnic.edu.au

Responsibilities:

Foundation Studies (EAL, Auslan, VCAL, YAMEC, OQP)

Human Services - Health (Community Service, Mental Health, Disability, Alcohol & Other Drugs, Individual Support, Pathology Collection & Allied Health)

Construction (Trades & Design)

Bachelor of Hospitality Management 

How to Assist Your Liaison Librarian

Assist your Liaison Librarian by:

  • Recommending items for purchase that will enhance library collections
  • Providing latest versions of your subject outlines
  • Supplying up-to-date reading lists
  • Organising Counter Reserve and Short Term Loans for your course materials before classes begin

Library Support for Virtual Learning

LIBRARY SUPPORT FOR STUDENTS UNDERTAKING VIRTUAL LEARNING
MP Library has been providing online resources to students and staff for 20+ years

Library websitethe major access point for online resources

LibGuides:  information resources, developed in-house with a focus on course content, and skills for study

ERNI citing and referencing tool:  an online lookup, containing examples of many types of Harvard and APA citations - available via the website

eBooks collections:  with varying licences providing opportunities for both read-on-screen and download

eJournals collections:  providing search capability to locate articles by keyword/subject; numerous ejournal titles available for browsing by volume/issue  - lots of downloadable full-text

A-Z listing of online databases:  with enormous subject coverage: Arts, Sciences, Business, Environment, Humanities, Education, Music, Construction, and more 

LinkedIn Learning:  providing access to a huge array of online tutorials on a range of topics that extend across:  technology, skills for learning, job seeking skills, professional practice skills

Capacity to develop curriculum-focused online instruction (information skills sessions) through various means  (Zoom, Kaltura)

Online video collections:  eg Safety Hub

Providing access to Studiosity via MP Library’s homepage

Providing a number of online contact points:  Liaison Librarian’s contactable via email and phone Contact email addresses and phone numbers on the Essential Information for Staff Libguide

Counter Reserve & Short Term Loans

You may elect to place high-demand course materials on Counter Reserve, or Short Term Loan.

Contact your Liaison Librarian for further information.

Counter Reserve = 2 hour loan

Short Term Loan = 7 day loan

How To Recommend New Resources

Suggestions for new resources are welcome:

  • Give publication details to your Liaison Librarian
  • Provide as much information as you can: title, author, date, publisher, ISBN, format, price etc
  • Give your Liaison Librarian the brochure, catalogue or URL, if you have it