Library Guides: Theatre Arts : Online Resources

Accents

International Dialects of English Archive:
"More than 1600 samples from 135 countries and territories, and more than 170 hours of recordings, IDEA is now the largest archive of its kind".

The Speech Accent Archive:
"A large set of speech samples from a variety of language backgrounds"

WAAPA Accent and Dialect Collection:
"A free resource for theatre practitioners and researchers that offers over 380 examples of the English spoken word from 68 countries of origin"

Monologues

Actorama:
Filter monologues by play, film, TV, as well as gender, age, genre, time period and more.

Australian Plays Transform:
"Australian Plays Transform (APT) is Australia’s national play development and publication organisation. It hosts the world’s largest online showcase and searchable database of the best Australian playwriting."

Backstage, Monologues:
Backstage is an online resource and magazine for actors and related film, television, and theatre communities based in the US. Over 700 monologues available and filter by author, gender, and theme.

Monologue Archive:
Contains a range of public domain monologues; sorted by dramatic, comic, classical and by gender.

The Monologue Database:
"Online collection of monologues for women and men with transcripts and video clips for auditions."

Stage Milk:
Monologues from TV shows.

Skills Building

Movement & Relaxation

Alexander Technique: The most comprehensive online resource for Alexander Technique, a technique used to combat tension and increase body-awareness
National Theatre Discover Movement: an extensive list of videos on movement for actors by the National Theatre UK.
Relieving Stress and Anxiety: video on the box breathing technique
Progressive Muscle Relaxation: a type of deep relaxation technique, video by John Hopkins Medicine

Voice

National Theatre Discover Voice: an extensive list of videos on voice/vocal warm-ups for actors by the National Theatre UK.

Images

The below links are a small sample of freely available images collections by museums and galleries. Imagery can be an excellent source for inspiration and imagination for actors:

Australian Collections	International Collections
Australian Dress Register Australian Performing Arts Collection National Gallery of Victoria (NGV) National Gallery of Australia State Library of Victoria Trove, National Library of Australia	British Library, Flickr collections British Museum Fashion History Timeline by Fashion Institute of Technology, State University of New York Google Arts & Culture Kyoto Costume Institute The Metropolitan Museum of Art New York Public Library, Digital Collections V&A Museum Wikimedia Commons

Industry Links/Organisations

Australian

Aussie Theatre: Australian theatre and arts platform for both arts community and theatre-going public.
The Australian Live Performance Database: AusStage provides an accessible online resource for researching live performance in Australia
Creative Victoria: provides government information and funding for artists
Media, Entertainment & Arts Alliance (MEAA): "MEAA is the largest and most established union and industry advocate for Australia’s creative professionals."
National Film & Sound Archive: Australia's premier audiovisual archive
Screen Australia: "Screen Australia is a Federal Government agency charged with supporting Australian screen development, production and promotion."

International

Internet Broadway Database: "he official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today."
New York Film Academy: an extensive list of student resources https://www.nyfa.edu/student-resources/acting/
Stage Milk: an acting information site for actors and students. Includes tips, monologues, articles, how-to guides.