Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library: Services & Facilities: Borrowing & Collections

ID Card

 

 

All students and staff must have their ID cards to use library services.

Borrower Guidelines

STUDENTS
(Higher Education, TAFE & VET)

Borrowing:

  • A total of 20 items may be borrowed.
  • General collection items may be borrowed for 28 days.
  • A maximum of items from each of the Multimedia and Music Disc collections may be borrowed for 14 days.
  • A maximum of 4 journals may be borrowed for 14 days.
  • A maximum of 3 items in the General Short Term Loan Collection may be borrowed.
  • Interlibrary Loans are available at no cost to Higher Education students.

Renewals:

  • General collection items and Periodicals are usually able to be renewed once.
  • Music Discs and Multimedia items are usually able to be renewed 3 times.
  • General Short Term Loans may not be renewed.

STAFF
Current employees of Melbourne Polytechnic must register to borrow.
Please visit your campus library.

Borrowing:

  • A total of 20 items may be borrowed.
  • General collection items may be borrowed for 28 days.
  • A maximum of 8 items from the Multimedia Collection and 4 Music Discs may be borrowed for 14 days.
  • A maximum of 4 journals may be borrowed for 14 days.
  • A maximum of 3 items in the Short Term Loan Collection may be borrowed at any one time, with no renewals.
  • Interlibrary Loans from other educational and government libraries at no charge.

Renewals:

  • A maximum of 3 renewals is usually possible for most items.
  • Periodicals may only be renewed once.
  • Items from the General Short Term Loan collection may not be renewed.

CAVAL RECIPROCAL BORROWING

Students and staff from some Victorian tertiary libraries are able to participate in the CAVAL reciprocal scheme. This permits borrowing of some items from other libraries. A CAVAL card can be initiated at the home library, or at any Melbourne Polytechnic Library. To register, visitors must present a current student or staff ID card from their home institution, or be able to demonstrate that they can access their home institute online system.

To be eligible for a CAVAL Card, Melbourne Polytechnic students must be studying a course of 12 months duration and Cert IV or above.

External CAVAL borrowers are not able to access Melbourne Polytechnic PCs, laptops or online subscription databases.

For more information visit the CAVAL website.

Borrowing & Renewals:

  • A maximum of 5 items may be borrowed.
  • General collection items may be borrowed for 14 days.
  • A maximum of 4 items from the Multimedia Collection, and 2 Music Discs may be borrowed for 14 days.
  • Laptops and items from the General Short Term Loan Collection are not available for loan.
  • 1 renewal of items is usually possible.

COMMUNITY BORROWERS

Members of the general public may pay an annual fee to use some facilities and borrow a limited range of items from any of the Melbourne Polytechnic libraries. The cost is $100.00 per annum (or $50.00 for six months), including GST. Payment is accepted at any campus library.  

Community borrowers are not able to access Melbourne Polytechnic PCs, laptops or online subscription databases.

Borrowing & Renewals:

  • A maximum of 5 items may be borrowed.
  • General collection items may be borrowed for 14 days.
  • A maximum of 4 items from the Multimedia Collections, and 2 Music Discs may be borrowed for 14 days.
  • Laptops and items from the General Short Term Loan Collection are not available for loan.
  • 1 renewal of items is usually possible.

Returning/ Renewing/ Overdue Items

RETURNING

Items should be returned on or before the due date to any campus library*.

The following libraries have after hours return chutes.

Epping has a 24 hour return chute located near the Library door, Building M, near Dalton Road.

Fairfield has a return chute at the front of the library. This is available until 10.00pm Monday to Thursday and Friday until 6.00pm.

Heidelberg  has a return chute, west entrance of Building A facing the Heidelberg Mall.

Prahran has a 24 hour return chute located near the Library door, Building K. 

*Some Melbourne Polytechnic Libraries are CLOSED during term breaks. The rest open with shorter hours.

It is your responsibility to return or renew any items due during term breaks, as you may accrue overdue fines.

RENEWING

You should make every effort to renew your borrowed items on or before the due date.

Items can be renewed at any campus library, or by calling 9269 1349.

You are also able to renew your items online through the library website.
Click here for instructions on how to do this.

You will not be able to renew any items that another patron has reserved, or if you have reached the renewal maximum.

Overdue Items

Overdue items are charged at $0.30 per day for items with a loan period greater than one week.

For items with a loan period of one week or less, charges are $0.50 per day.

Student Counter Reserve items- initial fine of $1.00 after the 2 hour loan period, and .50 cents every 30 minutes thereafter.

Fines do not accrue on weekends and Public Holidays.

Suspensions

  • Borrowers with an item more than 7 days overdue will be automatically suspended from borrowing items or using library services until the overdue item is returned.
  • Borrowers will also be suspended from borrowing if their overdue fines are $5.00 or more.
  • Borrowing rights will be restored if a payment is made to reduce the total owing to less than $5.00

Collections

childrens collection | counter reserve | electronic resources | english second language | general collection | fiction | multimedia | music

Lost Items

All borrowers (including Melbourne Polytechnic staff) are responsible for the return of all items issued under your card on or before the due date (even if you give them to someone else to use). Items that are long overdue will be considered lost.

Guidelines for  Library use 6.38-  

Reminder notices are sent if an item is overdue. Your borrowing rights will be automatically suspended if items are not returned 7 days after the due date. You will be invoiced for an item's replacement cost plus processing and administration costs if it is lost or damaged whilst on loan to you.

FindIt@

Find books, articles and more from a single search box:

 

All images (CC BY) License via Canva.com.