LibGuide: Essential Library Information for Staff.
TAB 1: Library Essentials.
Introducing MP Library Information Skills Program eBook.
(A link is provided to the latest version of the Library's Information Skill Program eBook. https://issuu.com/melbournepolytechniclibrary/docs/melbourne_polytechnic_library_-_inf ).
Teachers, please note: the Library Information Skills sessions eBook contains the full list of sessions offered by MP Library, updated to include a number of new topics.
To arrange bookings for your students, contact a Liaison Librarian. The link to the Liaison Librarians' information is: https://libguides.melbournepolytechnic.edu.au/Staff/CollegeLibrarians.
Library Locations & Hours.
Libraries are located at all Melbourne Polytechnic campuses.
Library hours vary from campus to campus, and may change during semester breaks.
Locations and hours details are available from the web address:
Essential Information for Staff: Obtain a Staff Card.
Your staff ID card is also your Library borrower card.
Staff ID cards are made at all campus libraries.
Bring your employee ID number with you.
Essential Information for Staff: Sort Out Your Library Membership.
To activate your library membership, work through these steps.
Complete a Borrower Registration form at any campus.
Nominate a PIN (password).
Return the completed form to library staff, with your Staff ID.
Essential Information for Staff: Check Your Library Password.
The Library password (PIN) is essential for:
Using library resources online, away from campus (ebooks, ejournals, databases).
Placing reservations and renewing loans.
Checking your library record.
Featured Librarian: Georgina Bourke.
Georgina's email: email@example.com.
Location: Preston campus library.
TAB 2: Library Services
WiFi is accessible in all Melbourne Polytechnic Libraries.
For assistance with WiFi setup, consult Library Technology Help
The web address is https://melbournepolytechnic.spydus.com/cgi-bin/spydus.exe/MSGTRN/OPAC/SUPPORT .
Extensive copyright information can be found at https://staff.nmit.vic.edu.au/learning/copyright/Guidelines%202/Forms/Guide%20View.aspx.
The Co-op Bookshop (based at LaTrobe University) is the approved supplier of textbooks to Melbourne Polytechnic students.
Ensure that adequate stocks are available by submitting your subjects' book lists to the Co-op at least three weeks prior to semester start.
Submit a book list to the Co-op Bookshop by completing the Lecturer's Textlist Manager form: https://www.coop.com.au/textlist/manager.
Contact the Co-op Bookshop by phone at 1300 61 71 81.
Photocopying, Printing & Scanning. At each campus library you will find:
Printer/copiers with both colour and black & white capability (Staff ID card required), and copiers with a scan-to-email capability.
Can't Find What You're Looking For? If the book or article you need isn't held by the library:
Consider applying for an interlibrary loan (https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLScuqC-syQMbDqr3aU1NGySzBdGP_nPkZTi6Q_HnUaCaHnOSwQ/viewform
Alternatively, contact your Liaison Librarian to discuss a purchase.
Using Other Libraries. To borrow from other Victorian TAFE and University Libraries:
Ask at any Melbourne Polytechnic Library for a CAVAL reciprocal borrower's card.
Take the CAVAL card to the Library you wish to join.
Further information about CAVAL is available at http://www.caval.edu.au/member-services/reciprocal-borrowing/faqs.
Staff wishing to make use of rooms in Building C (top floor) that are available for booking are advised to make their bookings through MS Outlook. Computer Lab C214 is an exception, and not able to be booked via MS Outlook.
TAB 3: Library Resources.
FindIt@MP: The Library's Search Tool.
Use FindIT to locate items for borrowing, and for finding online resources for downloading. FindIT will help you to locate:
Books, journals and DVDs in the Library collections.
Online journal articles.
For information, tips and advice about achieving mastery over FindIt, consult the FindIT LibGuide at https://libguides.melbournepolytechnic.edu.au/FindIT/BasicSearch.
There are a number of ways to connect to FindIT.
FindIT@MP: Getting Help.
For help, advice and instruction with FindIT@MP
Arrange a training session with your Liaison Librarian or
View the instructional tutorials on YouTube or
Send a message to the library via the Ask a Librarian link https://melbournepolytechnic.spydus.com/cgi-bin/spydus.exe/MSGTRN/OPAC/ASK.
How many loans? 20 items.
For how long? 28 days.
Renewals? 3 max.
For detailed loans information refer to Melbourne Polytechnic Borrower Guidelines: https://libguides.melbournepolytechnic.edu.au/friendly.php?s=borrowerguidelines
Renewing Borrowed Items: Do-It-Yourself.
You are encouraged to self-manage your loans.
To learn more, view the video: Renew Your Loans Online: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F5Au6g54Ex4.
Making Reservations: Do-It-Yourself. Reservations are necessary for
Reserving an item that is on loan to another or
Requesting an item from another campus library be sent to you.
To place the reservation yourself, follow these steps:
Locate the item in FindIT@MP (library.melbournepolytechnic.edu.au).
Select "Retrieve Catalogue Item".
Select the Place.
Select the Reservation button.
Enter your Staff ID and PIN.
TAB 4: Liaison Librarians.
Introducing Liaison Librarians
Liaison Librarians communicate on library-related matters within both Melbourne Polytechnic's teaching departments.
They ensure that library collections and services match the requirements of all schools and courses.
New staff are encouraged to arrange a meeting time with either of the two Liaison Librarians.
Assist your Liaison Librarian by:
Recommending items for purchase that will enhance library collections.
Providing latest versions of your subject outlines.
Supplying up-to-date reading lists.
Organising Counter Reserve and Short Term Loans for your course materials before classes begin.
Counter Reserve and Short Term Loans
You may elect to place high-demand course materials on Counter Reserve, or Short Term Loan.
Contact your Liaison Librarian for further information.
Counter Reserve = 2 hour loan.
Short Term Loan = 7 day loan.
Information Skills Training Sessions.
Liaison Librarians deliver training sessions (to both students and staff) on numerous information-related subjects.
For a full list of sessions, consult the MP Information Skills Program at https://issuu.com/melbournepolytechniclibrary/docs/melbourne_polytechnic_library_-_inf.
Liaison Librarians will adapt training sessions to suit your needs.
How to Recommend New Resources
Suggestions for new resources are welcome:
Give publication details to your Liaison Librarian.
Provide as much information as you can: title, author, date, publisher, ISBN, format, price etc.
Give your Liaison Librarian the brochure, catalogue or URL, if you have it.
TAB 5: Keeping Up-To-Date
New library resources arrive continually. To stay in touch, the following strategies are recommended.
Check New Book displays at campus libraries.
View the New To the Library section on the library homepage.
Follow the instructions for creating a search alert.
Ask Liaison Librarians for help with setting up alerts.
TAB 6: Research
Grants Victoria - web address: https://www.vic.gov.au/grants.html
Directory of state government administered grants available in Victoria.
Includes grants mainly for business and disadvantaged individuals.
Some education-related grants may be available also.
GrantGuru - web address: https://grantguru.com.au.
Australia-wide directory of grants for community and not-for-profit organisations.
Department of Industry, Innovation & Science: Grants and Assistance. Web address: https://www.business.gov.au/assistance.
This is an Australian Government sponsored directory for people seeking research grants.
It includes grants from many sources: government, business and community organisations.
Victorian Training Awards. Web address: www.education.vic.gov.au/about/awards/Pages/vta.aspx.
Victorian Training Awards are available in the individual or organisational categories for VET Teacher / Trainer of the Year Award, and the Victorian Large Training Provider of the Year Award. Awards are also on offer for industry collaboration and VET client service.
Australian Research Council. Web address: www.arc.gov.au.
This site hosts the National Competitive Grants Program but also offers funding for a range of other projects.
VET Development Centre. Web address: https://vdc.edu.au.
While the VDC site is devoted mainly to training and networking opportunities, information about funding for research projects provided by the VDC can also be found here.
Victorian Multicultural Commission. Web address: https://www.multicultural.vic.gov.au/grants.
The Victorian Multicultural Commission provides grants for education that support the state's culturally and linguistically diverse communities.
Darebin Council Community Grants Program. Web address: www.darebin.vic.gov.au
Cash grants of up to $6000 adn venue hire subsidies are available.
Yarra Council Community Grants. Web address: https://www.yarracity.vic.gov.au/about-us/grants
More than $750,000 is available to community groups and individuals in the areas of community development, arts and culture, family, children and youth, sport and recreation, and environment.
Redmond Barry Fellowship. Web address: www.slv.vic.gov.au/about-us/fellowships
Writers and scholars wanting to use the State Library's collection to research a project in any discipline to produce works of literature can apply to the Redmond Barry Fellowship and receive up to $20,000.
Ian Potter Foundation. Web address: www.ianpotter.org.au
Grants are available to organisations and individuals in the following fields: arts, community well-being, education, environment and conservation, health, disability and science.
Applications are available for research projects, travel and conferences.
Helen McPherson-Smith Trust. Web address: https://hmstrust.org.au.
The Helen McPherson Smith Trust targets grants to the education and vocational training sector for its ability to improve the educational and training outcomes for the community. Other areas targeted include: arts and culture, land care and stewardship, and programs in regional and rural Victoria. Grants are not available for travel and conferences.