Skip to main content

Borrower Guidelines: Who can borrow? / What can I borrow?

The who, what and when of borrowing...

Your Identification card

ID card

All borrowers (including Melbourne Polytechnic staff) must present their current Identification card to borrow. Everyone needs their card to print and photocopy.

FindIt@

Find books, articles and more from a single search box:

 

Students (Higher Education, TAFE & VET)

Borrowing:

  • A total of 20 items may be borrowed.
  • General collection items may be borrowed for 28 days.
  • A maximum of 4 items from each of the Multimedia and Music Disc collections may be borrowed for 14 days.
  • A maximum of 4 journals may be borrowed for 14 days.
  • A maximum of 3 items in the General Short Term Loan Collection may be borrowed.
  • Interlibrary Loans are available at no cost to Higher Education students.

Renewals:

  • General collection items and Periodicals are usually able to be renewed once.
  • Music Discs and Multimedia items are usually able to be renewed 3 times.
  • General Short Term Loans may not be renewed.

Staff

Current employees of Melbourne Polytechnic may register to borrow. - Please visit your campus library.

Borrowing:

  • A total of 20 items may be borrowed.
  • General collection items may be borrowed for 28 days.
  • A maximum of 8 items from the Multimedia Collection and 4 Music Discs may be borrowed for 14 days.
  • A maximum of 4 journals may be borrowed for 14 days.
  • A maximum of 3 items in the Short Term Loan Collection may be borrowed at any one time, with no renewals.
  • Interlibrary Loans from other educational and government libraries at no charge.

Renewals:

  • A maximum of 3 renewals is usually possible for most items.
  • Periodicals may only be renewed once.
  • Items from the General Short Term Loan collection may not be renewed.

CAVAL Reciprocal borrowing

Students and staff from some Victorian tertiary libraries are able to participate in the CAVAL reciprocal scheme. This permits borrowing of some items from other libraries. A CAVAL card can be initiated at the home library, or at any Melbourne Polytechnic Library. To register, visitors must present a current student or staff ID card from their home institution, or be able to demonstrate that they can access their home institute online system.

To be eligible for a CAVAL Card, Melbourne Polytechnic students must be studying a course of 12 months duration and Cert IV or above.

External CAVAL borrowers are not able to access Melbourne Polytechnic PCs, laptops or online subscription databases.

For more information visit the CAVAL website.

Borrowing & Renewals:

  • A maximum of 5 items may be borrowed.
  • General collection items may be borrowed for 14 days.
  • A maximum of 4 items from the Multimedia Collection, and 2 Music Discs may be borrowed for 14 days.
  • Laptops and items from the General Short Term Loan Collection are not available for loan.
  • 1 renewal of items is usually possible.

Community

Members of the general public may pay an annual fee to use some facilities and borrow a limited range of items from any of the Melbourne Polytechnic libraries. The cost is $100.00 per annum (or $50 for six months), including GST. Payment is accepted at any campus library.  Community borrowers are not able to access Melbourne Polytechnic PCs, laptops or online subscription databases.

Borrowing & Renewals:

  • A maximum of 5 items may be borrowed.
  • General collection items may be borrowed for 14 days.
  • A maximum of 4 items from the Multimedia Collections, and 2 Music Discs may be borrowed for 14 days.
  • Laptops and items from the General Short Term Loan Collection are not available for loan.
  • 1 renewal of items is usually possible.

Subject guide

News & Events

Loading ...