Literature Review: Q&A

FindIT citations often contain a DOI number

• It will look something like this: 10.1386/rjao.10.1.7_1
• Copy the number
• Paste the number into the search box at www.doi.org
• If the article is full-text and free, it will be available to you

Other options

• Check in Google Scholar for full-text
• Talk to your Liaison Librarian
• Complete an Interlibrary loan form and lodge it at your campus library

• Search for the publication in FindIT
• If it's available in the library (in print, or online) the details will appear on screen

• If it's a journal article you require - also try Google Scholar
• Note: Not all articles in Google Scholar are available in full-text

• If still unsuccessful, consult your Liaison Librarian
• Or, complete an Interlibrary loans form, and lodge it at your campus library

What is the difference between a literature review and an annotated bibliography?

• An annotated bibliography is a list of citations, with each one described and evaluated separately.
• A literature review analyses themes within a subject.  It uses the references to support, describe and discuss the various themes.    

How many texts should a literature review include?

• This can vary.  Seek advice from your lecturer.
• Consult the assessment criteria for your subject.

How do I find better search terms?

• Use FindIT to locate subject dictionaries (eg Dictionary of Biology; Dictionary of Science Fiction).
• Textbooks often contain glossaries: use them to define terms, and to locate new and alternative terms.
• Use a publication that you've already found - check the vocabulary the author has used.

Solution

Revise your search strategy

How?

• Ask yourself if there are dimensions of the subject that you've not included in the search - add them
• Can you narrow your search to a specific location (eg Australia)?
• Can you narrow to a particular date range (eg last five years)?
• Can you narrow to a specific segment of the population (eg adults, women, youths)?
• Can you narrow to a particular publication type?

Solution 1

One good article is the perfect starting point.  Use it to track down other similar articles.

How?

• Check the article's bibliography (reference list):  this may lead you to other relevant resources
• In Google Scholar use the "cited by" link to follow up on related articles

Solution 2

Revise your search

How?

• Check your original search for spelling errors
• Rethink the search terms you've used
• Consult dictionaries, glossaries and a thesaurus to find related and alternative terms, then add them to your search
• Separate like-terms in the search box with "or" (eg teenagers or adolescents or youths)
• For more ideas on how to improve your search, watch the Search Strategy videos